::Focus! (Ding Dong) The Witch is Gone
9:50 p.m. - 2004-02-27

Wow. I've been so busy going over what's going on on Planet Lindsey, I've forgotten to mention important work-type details. So I'm going to do that. Because I really want to talk about it. But mostly, I do it for you.

(I was much more articulate the first time I wrote this entry. But I clicked something...and lost it)


The witch, is gone. Nina is no longer with us. Yay. How, you ask? Well, Gloria put her on thirty day probation last week, because of all the work she's missed and whatnot (instead of just firing her like she should have). And Nina, in all her infinite smartness, didn't show up for her shift Monday morning. She called about six hours later, to see what time she was scheduled, and upon being informed that she missed her shift, proceeded to try the "car broken, stuck at some random person's house" excuse. But she got fired anyway. Hee!

It's about time, is all I have to say.

But, on the downside of that rather exciting news, BossLady has already hired someone to replace her. Putting us right back in the same boat I thought we set fire to and sent to sea. Haven't met her yet. And she hasn't been put on the schedule for more than training. But still...we don't need anyone else. Everyone's strapped enough for hours as it is. Sheeze.

Now Focus.

To kick off our spanking new "Focus Store" campaign, we had a meeting Monday night with all the store employees and managers, the area and district managers, and Steve the Regional Loss Prevention guy. It actually went a lot better than I anticipated. They made the whole Focud thing less like a punishment and more like an awareness program. To make us better at our jobs. Not because we're bad at them (we aren't), but because we can always improve.

I like their approach much better than I like Gloria's "it's gonna be hell" plan.

Speaking of Gloria's plan, we have new policies at Lane Bryant. Now, in order to "help us better cover the store", we have walkie-talkies. Walkie-talkies that we wear around our necks, and that pick up every police scan and half the cell and cordless phone calls within a two mile radius. And plays them at a volume that can be heard from approximately that far away. Annoying? Hell. Yes. Necessary? No. But...she fired Nina. I'll entertain this walkie-talkie thing. For now.


Also, I think I'm developing a shopping...thing. Not a problem yet, because I haven't bought all the stuff I'm oggling. But I'm suddenly worried about matching shoes and cute skirts and tops that have darts and stuff.

The jury's still out on whether or not this is a good thing. But let's hope that, whatever it is...something good comes of it. Like...maybe a boyfriend, or something.


I've got oodles of things to do tomorrow. Like a politician-tastic conference call at ohmigod-early-for-a-Saturday o'clock. And then the PA interview ordeal...all day. So I think I'm just gonna wrap it up.

Paca!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland