::Life, War, and the Black Hole
8:48 p.m. - 2004-09-05

As my sporadic journaling continues to befuddle and confuse the masses (and all three of you who read my journal), I still manage to maintain a relatively interesting existence on this side of the computer screen. I know, it's hard to believe. Even when the journal does not get updated, life refuses to stop and wait. All that really means is that a lot of things have gone unpublished (and thus somewhat forgotten in most cases) for *mumblescruffmumble* months. I do apologize, both to you and to my future self. Because some of that stuff was pretty friggin awesome.


Anyway, since we last spoke, nothing much of importance has happened. I did have one of those very long and ultimately extremely pleasant get-to-know-you-better-than-I-thought-I-ever-could-in-two-hours talks with fellow PA Stone (that's what I'm calling him, dangit) (whose building I happen to be at war with...which I'll explain later) after we went on rounds last night. Rounds are a bitch, let me tell ya. Not so much for the extreme justice-dolling-out that we do (because I've never actually done that), but for all the damned stairs you have to walk. Think about it, thirteen buildings, 74 stairs each, one after another. It's not the most athletic superfeat ever attempted, but at one in the morning, it ain't no picnic either.

You get to know your on-call buddy a little better during that sweatfest, though. And Stone and I found an empty case of beer outside one of the buildings, so after the stairfest we headed back to the office to write up an IR...which is really lame.

Let me tell you about the PA office. It's designed to look comfortable and inviting, but is actually less comfortable due to very hard to sit on furniture and has ulterior motives to get you out of there. In spite of the lumpy couch and the teeny armchairs, the place is like a black hole, in the best possible way. You go in to make a copy or check your box or meet with a program buddy, and the next thing you know, five hours have passed. Which is kind of what happened post-IR last night. Stone and I just kind of...sat down, and when we looked up again, it was two hours later. I don't even really remember everything I learned about him...but I remember that it was a lot of stuff.


And the being at war with his bulding? Didn't really affect much.

Yes, I said war. Hoo! Good God!

After a sound beating from some of the guys in 63 in a building-on-building volleyball game last week, Roll and Stone's (haha...get it?) people decided they didn't like the cockiness of my super-athletes (and the really were...all I did was hold down a corner and serve once or twice). SO they declared war. With a formal declaration and everything. We're just waiting for everyone to get back into town to discuss the "Rules of Engagement" something-or-other. And then it's ON!

Don't ask me...I'm just the invadee.

Updates to come.


Another thing about on-calls? They kind of coop a person up. While on-call, you aren't "allowed" to leave Waterview, and most definitely you are to stay on campus. And on a weekend, that means for twenty-four whole hours. So I stayed in my apartment all day today. I read the first fifteen or so chapters of Uncle Tom's Cabin for Pop Culture class, and a little over half of Jim Butcher's newest Dresden Files installment, Blood Rites. That one, I must say, is extremely entertaining. Even without the presence of certain extremely enjoyably characters. And what did Harry ever do with that little Asian Knight's sword? Just curious. And, as a result of my extreme need for background noise when reading/studying/existing, I watched all five hours of VH1's 100 Greatest One-Hit Wonders. The only one I really missed was Sister Hazel. I don't think they made the cut, which is a shame.


Gah well. I should probably get out of here before the black hole that is this office sucks me in for another hour and a half.

Until next time, I remain your

Linzmat

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland