::A Little Something New
6:19 p.m. - 2004-07-06

Over the holiday weekend, I've discovered a few new possible healthy hobbies for myself, and my buddies. And anyone else who might care to click the little linkies and take them up. :)


On the Fourth, the fam and I went to my aunt's house to hang out. Have a little patriotic get-together. It was more fun than some of our recent gatherings have been. And the only missing ingredient was The Aunt that usually causes all the trouble. So I guess it's no surprise that it was pleasant without her.

As the evening wore on, my Unca David drug out his latest game. Before it's been croquet, it's been frisbee golf, it's been water volleyball, and lots of other things. This time, it was Bocce Ball. It's kind of a cross between horseshoes, bowling, and croquet. Anyway, after the "manly men" of the family strutted their stuff for a while, the Matthews girls got to show them how it was really done. I think I'm a little bit addicted. Since Sunday I've been scouring the internet for a good (and cheap) bocce set. And I've already started planning a Bocce Ball and Other Lawn Games program for my building later this year.

Oh yes, a craze has started.

But this game is apparently pretty popular in the less hick-tastic states, especially Back East, so maybe I missed the craze.

What the hell, I'm starting a craze of my own.


What's the other new thing, you ask? Well, it's GeoCaching! I actually discovered this at work this morning. It's like a high-tech treasure hunt. All you need is a good pair of shoes (and probably a car unless you just really like walking), a GPS Unit, and a little bit of that old adventure spirit. My boss and his son have become addicted to this stuff. Apparently, it has that effect on people.

But as it is, I've been looking for an affordable GPS Unit all day as well. I really can't wait to get started.


As for the rest of my newly acquired summer hobbies, I plan on dropping them very soon anyway. So there's no use going over them now.

I'll see you all later.

Happy Hunting!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland