::Things to do in Muskogee with a Sunburn
10:08 a.m. - 2004-06-04

Three days and no entry. I'm a horrible person for leaving you for so long.

And in the absence of "substance" for my entry today (as I am still waiting to start work...) I'll let you all in on my little secret stash of sunburn do's and don'ts.

Yes, yes. Memorial Day came with a trip to the pool for me and mine. And I...being the idiot that I am, fell asleep for a bit in the sun. And I got a helluva sunburn all over my upper body as a thank-you. Most of it has stopped hurting by now, except for my shoulders and shoulder blades. I've entered the peeling process, which will be followed by the healthy-looking tan phase. And when that's all over, I won't burn any more this summer.

But, as I'm not really used to burning because I am usually so careful about my solar outings...I've been kind of a dumbass with this burn.


So you can learn from my mistakes.

1. DO use LOTS of aloe and after-sun lotion and the like. Apply often and liberally.

2. DON'T try to do all this applying yourself. It involves twisting in ways you will regret. Get a buddy to help you out.

3. DO wear shirts that button up the front. T-shirts and sunburn don't really mix. It's the lifting-over-the-head action that isn't fun.

4. DON'T wear your normal bras. The straps will make you suffer unnecessarily. Get yerself a strapless number, or even a halter-type to wear for a few days. Or, if you're blessed with small bosoms...go without.

5. DO embrace he peeling process. It means you're healing.

6. DO freeze your pillow before bed. Cold cotton feels VERY good on sunburned shoulders.

7. BEWARE of large dogs. Particularly those who loove to give hugs. Big puppy paws do NOT feel good on bad sunburns.

8. DON'T go to big family hugfests. Or if you do, wear a sign, or take a buttload of Tylenol beforehand. Trust me.


Anyway, that's about all I've got. Sorry I'm not more entertaining. I'm containing the real stuff for my trusty laptop keyboard. This one sticks a lot and drives me nuts.

Paca!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland