::Encounter over Valvoline
5:55 p.m. - 2004-01-22

I actually already wrote an entry for today. And then my inner monologue had a better way of putting it. So I scrapped the first one and decidedon a rewrite. And now, new and improved...today's entry!

I know I've been gone for three days. Funks hardly seem noteworthy. Two days of near failure at work, which is becoming much more chore and much less fun, and I'm pretty positive it isn't just the new CD. No one seems to really care anymore. It was so much easier to get through a day at work when at least someone was having fun, and not wishing they were somewhere else. Gloria has gone all psycho store manager on us, and cut me back to eight friggin hours a week...which will not cut it. I think it's time to start looking for another job, even if it's just to supplement. I still like Lane Bryant, don't get me wrong. But...ish. It's no fun when morale is in the toilet, just a flush away from being gone completely.

And two class days. Government is turning out to be my most interesting class. What does that say about the rest of my schedule? *sigh*

I did see David Boreanaz on Jimmy Kimmel alst night, though. e's a really funny guy. Through some amazing coincidence, my TV antenna decided to pick up the channel near perfectly for that whole forty minutes. Damn the lack of cable. Let's hope Comcast shows up tomorrow because mommy told me I could have my cable back. Apparently we're not as poor as I thought we were. But I still haven't bought any books yet...just in case.


In other news, I may have marred my chance at a date this afternoon. [But Lindsey! You've never had anyone ask you out in your life! (except that once, but he doesn't count) Why in hell would you turn down a date?!] I will tell you the story. I went to Tom Thumb (the devil of grocery stores, in my opinion) after class, to see if they had any good deals...because I'm a bargain looker-outer. And upon leaving the store, I remembered that I needed to check the oil in my car, because I have a teensy leetle leak. I spotted my favourite employee of Tom Thumb, Junior, and said hi. He, being the nice fellow he is, came over to talk. :) And then he left, and I got back to showing off my stunning mechanical prowess and general knowing-of where everything is under the hood.

So, there I am, hood up, oil flowin, wiping my hands on an oily rag and looking quite satisfied with myself, and a really nice looking (not hot, really...but he was super sweet) twentysomething guy pulls off the busy street to make sure I'm okay. It may be my desperate, starved-for-affection imagination, but I think in the five minutes or so that we talked, we really hit it off. I finished putting oil in my car (he offered to help...but I am woman, hear me roar!), and I shut the car hood. There was a little awkward pause there, and kind of a look from John (see, I even learned his name) where there might have been the initiation of a question unrelated to vehicle maintenance. He actually got to "Would you like to..." But me and my remarkable desire to not embarrass myself any more than necessary, turned away with a casual wave, jumped into my car with lightning speed, and drove away.

But I guess I'll never know what he wanted. Damn my insecurity. Damn it to hell. Here's hoping he's a psycho and that my turning down his almost-date request saved my life. That way I don't feel so depressed about the whole thing. Gah well. Could be worse, right?

As for now, I'm going to make myself a solitary dinner, and eat it while trying desperately to get my cable-less Telly to pick up a station other than PBS. Paca!

Songs - "Across the Universe" by Fiona Apple (it's a Beatles cover) and "Too Much Food" by Jason Mraz

Movie - The Truth About Cats & Dogs

Thinking - will I watch Tru Calling tonight? Of course I will...even though it's a very awful show.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland