::It's Been A Week, But Here I Am
1:46 p.m. - 2004-08-31

It's been a week already? I can hardly believe it. I finally got a little mulah, and half a computer. I'm still working on the other half. Sort of. In theory.

School has gotten off to a flying start. I've decided that Pop Culture and Linguistics are going to be my favourite classes for the semester. Pop Culture just sounds fun. Studying what's been popular and what's flopped and why over the years...starting in the 18th century, and going all the way through today. And the final paper is over cult fandom. Guess what cultish fandom I'm picking? Yeah... that one.

Linguistics...well, I'm a language junkie, so naturally this class is right up my alley. The prof reminds me of a cross between my high school Choir director, and my old boss Gloria. Kind of. He's Spanish and looks kind of like Fred Flintstone. And the paper in that class is fantastically open topic-wise. I think I'm going to do mine over language games like spoonerisms and rhyming slang. Or over the language of TV, with emphasis on one or two shows. Yeah... those.

Since I started college I've wanted to do an academic paper on the Jossverse. And now, in one semester, I can do two. Whoopee!


Anyway, back to business. I've missed writing so much. I find myself jotting entries on scrap paper all the time. Just wishing I could get to a keyboard and write here. And I might have been able to, if not for the electrical woes that UTD is facing.

They shut down the campus power ALL WEEKEND, and they're shutting it down at ten o'clock every night until they get it fixed. That, coupled with the construction going on EVERYWHERE around here, makes it a little difficult to get to campus for a rendezvous with you all. But, all will be well soon. This time I promise.

For now, I remain your faithful

linzmat

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland