::Driveway Moments
10:39 a.m. - 2005-02-11

This is hopefully the first in a relatively long line of "good" entries. And by "good" I mean not all recappish and mundane.

Have you ever had one of those moments where you're cruising down the road, listening to the radio (sometimes it also happens with a CD), and you arrive at your destination right in the middle of something awesome...and you just have to sit in your car in your driveway (or parking space) until whatever it is is over? (For you folks that don't drive yet...you still might know what I'm talking about. But if you don't, rest assured you will. Especially if you listen to NPR)

In the years I have been driving, I have become well acquainted to these moments. I'll be flipping through my presets and come across a fascinating discussion on NPR. It could be about hypergraphia, Palestine, or gay rights. It could be an interview with Neil Simon or Don Cheadle...anyone really. NPR is GREAT for driveway moments. It's happened with CDs before too. You're halfway through Carter's drum solo in the middle of DMB's "Halloween" from Remember Two Things, and you just can't turn it off. MItch Hedberg is about to launch into his bit about koala infestations...whatever floats your feather really.

We've all had driveway moments. But my point is, don't you feel just a little bit like a stalker/rapist/child molester (depending on your particular parking situation) when you're having a driveway moment? If it's a particularly lengthy moment, people are no doubt walking by and looking at you funny, especially if you're concentrating on the conversation. But I wager they'd look at you pretty damn funny if you were playing the most awesome air drum solo ever, too.

An aside: According to this window, I began writing this entry at 8:39 p.m. on February 10th, 2005. The time now is 10:46 a.m. on February 11th, 2005. I have not been writing the entire time, and to be honest, I kind of forgot all about this entry after I went to the "Get Smashed" program last night. So I think it's fair to say I've lost the plot a little bit, as far as this entry goes. So basically, it's all downhill from here.

Go have a driveway moment or something.

Paca!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland