::Ultimate Update
2:14 p.m. - 2005-09-12

Damn. Has it really been that long? I can't even tell you where that fifty days has gone. But if I had to guess, I'd say it's gone to training, working, schooling, occasional sleeping, PA-ing, and far too many IRs.

In short, I've been way too busy to do anything but miss all the things I don't have time to do anymore. As it stands I'm writing this entry on the sly at work. That timestamp up there? Hasn't been accurate for HOURS, and I'm only on the second paragraph!

I feel led to write at this moment for a number of reasons. Not to explain my absence, because that would be impossible. Not just to write, I can do that anywhere. No, The Journal bids me fill it for other purposes.

No, it's nothing terribly interesting. I just kind of went with that whole serious portent thing.

Wow.

Anyway, so, Ultimate Frisbee. Coolest. Sport. Ever. Okay, maybe not ever, but it's pretty friggin cool. PB, my new building buddy and neighbor, is the captain of the club team at UTD. He put on this big tournament last weekend, and needed some volunteers to help him run it. I, being the very nice person I am, decided to help. I didn't really know much about the game except that PB has a passion for it, as do a few of my residents. But I watched all weekend, and the sport is remarkable. It's all the fun of competitive sports without the throwing of things and the yelling and the badness. There's this whole "spirit of the game" thing they've got going. They ref themselves, all issues are solved between the individual teams. There's competition sure, but there aren't screaming parents and coaches, there are no spiked discs or fistfights...it's fun.

I think the world should take a page from the Ultimate book, in more ways than one.

I promise I'll be back soon with more.

Paca!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland