::Good News, Bad News - Again
6:48 p.m. - 2005-07-23

I think it's always best to do the bad news first. That way, you get disappointed with a chance of being cheered up again. That is, if the good news is good enough. Here's hoping, right?


Prudence the Camry...sucks. This you know. This, EVERYONE knows. But just in case you've forgotten (and because I'm in a ranty mood), let's recap. In the past year (even the past six months), Prudence has had MAJOR work in almost every area one can have work done at her age. We've replaced the front seals on the engine along with every other seal on the car (almost), Completely redone the oil filter/system/thingie in the car, gotten new spark plugs, new fuel filter, completely redone the wiring (the horn still doesn't work damnit), and a couple of other smallish things that didn't cost much. But all told, with the gas (to and from Oklahoma to fix things I don't trust anyone I don't know fixing) and towing and repairs, she's cost us about...&2000. That's a lot of money for a car that cost less than that to buy. And now...the brakes are shot.

I took Pru to this place called "Just Brakes" today, because I'd noticed the brakes making funny noises when I stop this week. So naturally, I take the car in. I waited a bit longer than I should have (thank you nine to five job), but I did take it in. Anyway, with everything they told me was wrong, it was gonna be about $900 to fix it. Of course I expected this. Mechanics, especially mechanics like the nicotine-soaked asshole running the place today, tend to think that women who come in alone are just tits with legs, and therefore know absolutely NOTHING about cars and will pay you to do whatever you tell them needs to be done. Having had Pru for three years now, and a (short) string of lemon(ish) vehicles before her, I know that they will try and take advantage of my gender-specific ignorance. So I always bring someone with me, and have whoever it is talk to my dad. Because I am many things, but I am not a confrontationalist. I'm not good at it, and I don't really care to be. I'm better at avoiding it.

Anyway, got a quick fix for the car, for now, and it's going BACK to Oklahoma so someone who really knows what's going on and knows that I am not a walking pair of tits with SUCKER tattooed on my forehead.

Also I can't drive at all unless ABSOLUTELY necessary because the brake system might fail completely and then I'd die. And other people might die too. That worries me because my baby sister(s) will be driving my car back to Oklahoma on Tuesday. Eesh.

Damnit.

I can't even keep my own car for a month before all hell breaks loose.

On to the good news.


Work has been going pretty well. I got a raise last week, which is always nice. And, this being my first raise in a long while, I think I'm going to enjoy it. I now officially make more per hour at a "real" job than I ever have.

I bought myself the new DMB album today. So far I like it. I think I'm only halfway through it, but I like it. It's definitely different that their usual, but I think it works for them. Change is good.

Also, they added a Dallas tour stop (finally!). Tickets went on sale today, and as soon as my rent check(s) clear, I'm buying one. I don't care if I have to go alone (really I do care...come with me?), I'm going.

Mostly that's all the good news. I feel a little better, how about you?

Ciao!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland