::Another Long-Awaited Update
6:58 p.m. - 2004-07-27

Wow. What kind of bum doesn't update for seventeen whole days?! I'll tell you what kind, the Linzmat kind.

I do sincerely apologize for my absence (although by the numbers you haven't missed me at all). But, just to humour myself, I'll update you on the past two weeks as if you've all missed me TERRIBLY.

So yes. Last week was my final week as a Calaway Transfer girl. I miss it already. This week has been super boring with no Abby AND no job with a dirty-joke-telling boss. Please fell sorry for me because I am a bum with nothing to do.

Also, last week, Abby and I got to babysit my two year old (second) cousin Hayden. Or as he says it, "haynen..DIESEL ROSS!" He was pretty much the most adorable thing ever. And I loved spending time with him, because for most of his life, I've been away at school, and have therefore missed a pretty significant chunk. But, he's old enough to like me, and that makes me happy. And every time we came in from outside (he LOVES outside...so we did this a LOT), he said goodbye to the backhoe (big tractor with a giant shovel attached to it). It was so CUTE! He was so cute, in fact, that it almost (ALMOST) made me want to stay here and commute to NSU or something.

Almost.


In other family-type news, we've had a few deaths. No one that I knew very well, but a great great great uncle or something, and a dear friend of the family have passed away in the past couple of weeks.

While this is a sad thing indeed, it has led to some rather entertaining happenings.

A cousin/uncle/male relative of some kind and his family came down last weekend, and so there was the traditional BG FAMILY DINNER. Actually, it wasn't all that big, because lots of people were unable to attend. So there were maybe twenty of us there (including kiddos), and we had a BLAST. As it turns out, my kinspeople are FUNNY. And not just in the "Oh, he's so old and his ideas are so outdated...oh, he can't remember anything OR hear" kind of way. Aunt Fran laughed so hard at "HA breaths" (I think it's yoga?) that she peed her pants a little. Honestly, I can't remember what was so funny...but it was a rather stupendous evening. Especially when the lil' kiddos (Hayden included) decided to play Dive-Bomb the Fatkids, a game in which they take off running from one side of the room and either dive head first or jump knees first into the lap of either my sister or myself. And then there's a laughing fit on all parts, and they run off to do it again.

In a nutshell, I love my family. I don't wanna leave them all.


I went to a Sarah McLachlan concert (my first ever) with my good buddy Rach and her dad last Thursday. It was pretty freaking amazing. The set was awesome, the background was cool, Sarah was as unbelievable as I expected her to be. And the opening act, Butterfly Boucher, was very very good as well. I now own her CD, and have been pumping her jams all week long. Word.

Of course, there was the usual G&L crowd that comes with any girl-power Lillith Fair-ish concert (although, contrary to popular belief ,Lillith fair is not a GLBT event). I actually enjoyed the diversity. And I missed out on the asshats behind us for the most part, thanks to my spectacular ability to tune things out. And maybe because I was more focused on keeping my rolls off the nice lady next to me.

It was an amazing concert, complete with a very nice train ride and a comfy couch to crash on.


Friday was moving day for me. Well, for my stuff anyway. Mommala and Aby met me at my new apartment Friday afternoon, and we packed all my crap inside. I think I like it. It has an actual living room, and actual kitchen with tile and everything, a washer and dryer, a coat closet (I've never had one of those before!), a bathroom big enough to hold class in, and a rather large bedroom with a patio. Colour me happy as a clam.

I am moving down to be with my stuff later on this week. And hopefully, I'll find my wireless adapter and have some internet time before the crowds come back.


Aby left Sunday afternoon on a missions trip to Sacramento, New Mexico. I so very much wanted to go, but they don't get back until this Sunday afternoon, and I wouldn't be able to make it back to the Big D by five. But, as it turns out, they're going right through Dallas on their way home...so they could have dropped me off. Damn the luck.


That last bit wasn't at all interesting, was it? Oh, bother. Who gives a rat's ass anyway?

I'm going to go get some Chinese take-out and settle down with a Showtime Original. Have a nice night all.

Paca! P.S. Paca reminded me...Jaron's in town! I'm going to see him on Thursday! Whoohoo!

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland