::Respect, Dissent, and Politics
6:12 p.m. - 2004-11-12

Heaven help me, I've developed respect for Marshall Mathers. Actually, that's not necessarily a new development. After I got over the "oh my god, a white rapper? AGAIN?!" thing a couple years ago, and after being FORCED to listen to da Eminem by my two bestest buds, I actually started listening to his stuff. Granted, lots of it is pretty offensive to lots of people.

But it's also the work of a very talented guy.

No, seriously, hear me out. If you listen to the lyrics, the rhymes, all of it. It's really good. And I respect him for not putting on airs. He is who he says he is, and fuck you if you don't like it. Don't listen.

That's just cool, ya know? Even though there has been "gay-bashing" in his songs and gay rights and whatnot are my big issues...the dude sang with Sir Elton John.

Really this all just came about because there was a VH1 special on about Eminem. And we all know how I love my VH1 specials.


I took my (almost) last Environmental Geology test today. Reading that book makes me depressed. It talks about the property loss that happens when we humans fuck up the environment enough that something catastrophic goes down. It talks about how we can fix things, but it makes me think that the only reason to employ the Three R's, or alternative fuels, or whatever, is to protect our property. It knocks windfarms because they reduce the aesthetic appeal of the surrounding areas. And they kill birds. Everything has a downside.

But really, when I read for these tests, all I can ever think is that we are SO stupid as a species. If we were all still cute little furry animals, the world would be getting along just fine. As it is, humans (and Americans, disproportionally) have used up half of the oil in the world, we're starting to rape the oceans for all their minerals that we can exploit, and even Yellowstone is looking like a good place for a power plant. What have we done to this planet?

I say this while using nuclear/coal power to run my computer, driving a car that is less than fuel-efficient and leaks oil, and being a big-time consumer. So this comes with a healthy helping of irony. But that doesn't mean I have to like the way this all happens. I think I'd be just as happy as a furry little animal who only uses what she needs, only kills out of necessity and not hate (or for profit or fashion), and not having to be so damned concerned about the stupid shit that I get worked up about now.


Mostly, I think I'm a little pissed off at the human race today. For no particular reason...I just am, myself included.

Oh, and I found a couple of websites today that kind of intrigue me. I mean, I wish Bush weren't going to be President for the next four years too...but he is. So I think we should suck it up and try to support him as much as we can. A nation divided isn't going to be nearly as strong as a nation divided. And even if you can't like the guy (don't worry, I can't either), we can at least take the defeat with a little dignity. Not to say I don't think all the "we're sorry"s are cute...but still. This is something we're gonn have to deal with for four more years. The least we can do is try and accept it, help make things better wherever we can, and if we're going to dissent, do it constructively. This is kind of a cool idea even.

Huzzah for peaceful protest. Yeah, the "I'm sorry" thing is peaceful...but it's more whine and less protest.


I think I should go before I stop making sense to myself.

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland