::Thelma and Louise - doggy style
2:25 p.m. - 2005-07-06

Okay...this is the third time I've tried to update, today alone. I always get cut off when my boss walks in and I do the panicked-closing-of-windows thing that makes me look ten times more guilty than I would if I just opened a work-related window. Bah. Well, he's gone for the rest of the day, so I'm going to update. Take my time even.

*10 minutes pass*

Okay, time has been taken. And I'll never get those minutes back. Thanks.

So, where have I been for almost two weeks? Well, back home, for one. I went back to fetch my sistahs a week ago. And Over the holiday, I went home again to deliver them back, and to see my family some more. Vacation is no time to keep up a journal. We'll overlook the fact that I had to work every day last week for now.

We did do a bunch of fun vacationy things, in spite of my work schedule. The Dallas Zoo (kinda sad really), the DMA, more malls than anyone should be subjected to...ever, and some other touristy stuff. I also took them to my favourite restaurants, and lots of the places I go. We're all about the full experience here, thank you.


On the way back to Oklahome from this expedition...something interesting happened. We (meaning myself and the two snoring snoozemachines machines in the car with me) were halfway between Nowhere and Nowhere Special on Highway whatever, and the van in front of me slows down for no apparent reason and swerves. They didn't crash or anything...I just probably wouldn't have noticed what they were swerving to avoid had they not, well, swerved. Anyway, there were what appeared to be two sausages on legs along the side of the highway. Upon closer inspection, they turned out to be sausage dogs. So, being the daughter of one LAMatchooz, rescuer of wayward animals at the risk of life and limb, I pulled over to see what was up with these two petite pooches. I stopped, yelled to the sleeping beauties in my passenger seats to wake up, and opened the door, preparing myself to chase the little suckers down and off the highway. they jumped right in the car. Both of them, no hesitation. So, I shut the door, and drove on with two new and furry little passengers.

I left my number at no less than four gas stations/truck stops, as well as a host of other roadside businesses and one fireworks stand, should anyone come inquiring about lost dogs. I called my mom to make sure it would be okay to bring them home (I knew it would, of course, as we have had a veritable cornucopia of animals through the years, many rescued from the clutches of homelessness and certain death) and we went on our merry way.

The girls, as they came to be known, seemed pleased as punch to be riding with us. They helped me drive, didn't pee or poo the car, and slept rather soundly in the arms of each and every human occupant for the two hours or so we were on the road.

As of now, we have called back all the businesses at which I left my number, as well as a few on the South side of the spot where I found them, as well as looking in local newspapers I picked up on my way back to Tejas yesterday. No one seems to be looking for these girls, whom we have dubbed Thelma and Louise for the time being. They're beyond adorable...and haven't tried to run away or anything like that. I shudder to think that someone could have dumped them, especially on a busy highway.


Anyway, aside fromt hat adventure, I haven't much else to report. Life is back to normal, as far as anything is concerned.

I think I was going to tel you about the new spring in my step as of late. I kind of met a guy. I don't want to jinx anything, or assume anything...but for some reason, the first time I talked to him it was like my mental funk was just...over. I was me again. Witty, comfortable with the English language, happy to be communicating, me. It was cool. I'll tell you more about him later.

For now...PACA!

P.S. Hi to all you Googlers who may happen upon this entry. :-D

be || free

+ current
+ archives
+ Profile
+ Cast
+ Rings
+ Bio
+ Book
+ Email
+ Design
+ Diaryland